My Summer 2016 Anime Line-up (Part 2)

read PART ONE 

Here comes the second batch of titles I have checked in the past few days. these are just quick first impression notes.

Tales of Zestiria the X: (fantasy based on a game). never played the game before. this first episode is in fact a prologue to the actual series. (that’s how Ufotable does it!) I picked this, because of the studio animating it which brought to life one of my favorite series before: Fate/Zero. way too much CGI in this. I don’t think it’s working well this time. we’re looking at an apocalyptic/post-apocalyptic story with a company that’ll save the world… i guess. I can’t get anything out of a prologue. I’ll update this in part 2 after watching episode 1.

I watched the first ep and it was great! I hear that they filled in some gaps from the game. the CGI in this ep improved from the prologue. for people who don’t know the game/story, it’s early to judge but I personally like the slow pace of story telling alongside balanced attention to everything including SFX, BGM, animation, plot etc… If the series is at least 25 eps (which is most likely the case here) then that type of story telling is perfect for building the world and the characters too. I’m looking forward to more episodes.

Mob Psycho 100: (shounen, action, supernatural, comedy) by the creator of Onepunch-man (manga). brought to us by Bones not Madhouse though but a lot of my favorites came from Bones and I think this is carrying OPM’s momentum and hype so I wouldn’t be surprised if this title is backed by a huge budget (like OPM from what I’ve heard. it WAS an incredibly well-animated series after all.)

OOH YEEAAAAHHH!!! this is friggin’ awesome! I haven’t seen animation this good in a while! It’s screams sakuga from beginning to finish! I’m glad they kept ONE’s art style and morphed it into a great animation style. I haven’t enjoyed an OP this much since Ranpo Kitan’s.

ReLIFE: (supernatural, school life, slife of life, romance) This series is already available in its entirety. I watched it back to back last night. that’s enough to say that I really liked it. In fact, I’m going to resume reading the manga.

Tenkyou no Alderamin: (shounen, adventure, fantasy) not expecting much from this. I’ll check it out anyways.

as expected! which is not much, like i said. but it’s got potential to be a decent adventure story.

Battery: (shounen, sports (baseball)) I’m a fan of Diamond no Ace so i’m hoping this would fill the void DnA left recently. but based on the synopsis, I think this is going to be very different.

I’m disappointed that this has 11 episodes only. Based on the first ep, it’s really slow. I wonder if we really get to see character development and enjoy some intense matches. I think this’ll focus more on the drama and slice of life part than on the sports.

Arslan Senki: Fuujin Ranbu: Second season of Arslan Senki. I got nothing to say about this other than it’s guaranteed to be good.

Bananya: a very sweet and cute anime about a cat in a banana. I love this cute genre. it’s a nice breather from the serious anime I usually watch.

There are many prospects this season but only one title that got me excited, Mob Psycho 100. I love the visuals in Orange and the light-hearted story of Amaama to Inazuma and Bananya. I’ll be watching the following titles but they’re at the bottom of my priority list so it might happen that I’ll never finish them. Tales of Zestiria the X, DAYS, Battery, and D.Gray-man Hallow.

 

 

Leave a Reply

