Picks from April, 5th 2017

I wanted to shoot this same landscape at sunset hoping that it’d make the sky more interesting. I couldn’t get what I wanted. The problem was my position (the only position from where I can get the same shot) is too low to get me a colorful sunset sky.

That didn’t stop me from shooting a few. I picked this one to share.

DSC00972

I didn’t shoot HDR. I tried it before and I didn’t like it. I prefer nature/landscape photos to be accurate or slightly enhanced. but I digress. What I want to say is that this photo doesn’t look top quality because I processed it out of the RAW image below. I do think it’s still a decent shot, just not good for print.

raw

After the sun sunk behind that hill, I went up again and looked for interesting silhouette subjects and found none. Luckily, my friend was with me and I took a few shots. I picked this one (it’s a cliché but still). Usually, sun flares are no good and I avoid them as much as possible but this one sort of made the shot.

DSC00989

We went on a little further. I looked for more subjects, still nothing except this fence post of a fence that isn’t there! anyway, I grabbed a few shots here.

DSC01006.jpg

On my way back home, I found this unfinished building (don’t know if it’s a house or not) with some grass in the front and the toppled barrel. I thought it’s a great chunk of imperfection.

When shooting in my hometown, I close the door on shooting perfect-looking photographs and be ready to look around and capture the things that make my town what it is, a faithful portrayal.

Anyone else in town wouldn’t shoot this unfinished house because it looks plain and if they did, they wouldn’t put the barrel in the frame. I truly believe that barrel made the shot! This is my town and this is how it looks like. Period.

DSC01011

Here’s another patch of my town.

It’s not the most beautiful photo, that’s for sure. But the fact that I put bits of my town into a frame is a statement in itself. I’m making it beautiful and interesting.

DSC01038.jpg

The next two are my favorites of the day! I found an old and abandoned house. I called it Frankenstein’s House and you’ll see why.

Frankenstein's_House-Door.jpg

Frankenstein's_House-Window.jpg

This turned out to be a longer post than I thought. sorry about that. I hope you enjoyed the photos. no worries if you didn’t though. You can lay it on me on a comment. I appreciate feedback. 🙂

Leave a Reply

