Olympus OM-1

I should have started learning photography by using an SLR instead of a digital piece!

A local photographer was more than kind to let me use one of his old SLRs. He gave me a fully manual and fully mechanical camera from 1971. I was hoping for a semi-auto to get me started but hey, I can’t complain. After starting the shoot, I was actually glad that I got this one.

om-1

Its through-the-lens exposure meter is broken so that made using it a real challenge. At first I was overwhelmed but then I thought what the hell! I wanted to test my understand of exposure and light so I embraced the fact. We’ll see in a few days once I get the prints back. I’m pretty sure most if not all of them are off but this is my first roll and I’m not stopping until I master film photography one way or another.

I can tell you one thing I certainly enjoyed shooting with it. The strudiness of it and the sound of its shutter, everything about it. Taking a photo with my mirroless camera takes a couple of seconds; I can always fix it later. With this one, I have to work it out from all aspects and be patient and considerate of everything before I release the shutter. It demands respect for each photo I plan to take. I guess that’s what I learned from my first time using a SLR.

If I’m lucky and one or two photos from today’s roll are good exposures, I’ll scan and post them once the prints are ready. To be honest, I’m not that optimistic.

4 thoughts on “Olympus OM-1

Leave a Reply

